In 1912, Morocco was divided between French and Spanish protectorates, and the French moved the capital from Fez to Rabat. In 1923, Tangier, always Morocco’s commercial capital, became an international zone. Morocco became an independent kingdom in 1957.

As elsewhere on the Barbary coast, local rulers in Morocco had provided most early consuls with accommodation in traditional Arab houses and, until 1885, free of all expenses. The British government was able to buy several of these consular sites in 1921.

The Moroccan consulates page includes Tangier, Casablanca (former Dar el Baida), Fez, Essaouiri (former Mogador), Tetuan, Laraiche and Saffi.